In a year when home has never been more important, these designers have made our spaces all the more beautiful to come home to—and we’re thrilled to be able to celebrate them in our 2021 Designers of the Year. Each year, our all-star judges narrow down hundreds of entries to just a few finalists in 9 categories.

Below, you’ll find that list of finalists. We’ll be announcing the winners on August 30, and celebrating them in our September issue as well as at our annual DOTY event in Vancouver. Keep connected with us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram or subscribe to our newsletter to follow all our #wldoty updates and be among the first to know when the news is out.

Congratulations to everyone on our shortlist for our 2021 Designers of the Year competition, and thank you to everyone who threw their hat in the ring and made our judges’ job tougher than ever. You’re all a critical part of our amazing design community here in Western Canada—a community we’re proud to celebrate every year.


Alloy Homes, Calgary

Architecture Building Culture, West Vancouver

Frits de Vries Architects + Associates, Vancouver

MA+HG Architects, Vancouver

McLeod Bovell Modern Houses, Vancouver

Measured Architecture, Vancouver

One Seed Architecture + Interiors, Vancouver

Synthesis Design, North Vancouver

Vallely Architecture, North Vancouver

Arthur Erickson Memorial Award for an emerging architect or residential designer

Haeccity Studio Architecture, Vancouver

Nick Bray Architecture, Vancouver

Noble Architecture, Vancouver

One Seed Architecture + Interiors, Vancouver

Vallely Architecture, Vancouver


Alykhan Velji Designs, Calgary

Amanda Hamilton Interior Design, Calgary

Bidgood and Co., Victoria

Falken Reynolds, Vancouver

Gillian Segal Design, Vancouver

Marieke Burgers, Burgers Architecture, West Vancouver

Ministry of Interiors, Edmonton

Rebecca St. John Design, Calgary

Stephanie Brown Inc., Vancouver

Robert Ledingham Memorial Award for an emerging interior designer

Amanda Evans Interiors, North Vancouver

Gillian Segal Design, Vancouver

Kaline Dickson, Coquitlam

Ministry of Interiors, Edmonton

Nako Design, Edmonton

Rudy Winston Design, Vancouver

Schédio Spaces, Vancouver

Shift Interiors, Vancouver

Studio Roslyn, Vancouver

Furniture Design

Autonomous Furniture, Victoria

Ben Barber, Vancouver

Jay Miron, Vancouver

New Format Studio, Vancouver

Origins, Vancouver

Same Old Studio, Vancouver

Shipway Living Design, Vancouver

Solo by Allan Switzer, Vancouver


Alykhan Velji Design, Calgary

Caine Heintzman, Vancouver

Demsey Kirkwood, Mako Design, Winnipeg

Origins, Vancouver

Steve Suchy, Tuft and Paw, Vancouver

Tafui, Vancouver

Tantalus, North Vancouver

Tomnuk, Edmonton

Fashion and Jewellery

Becki Chan, Vancouver

EVStenroos, Calgary

Lover Fighter, West Vancouver

Misheo, Vancouver

Poppy Barley, Edmonton

Sonja Picard, North Vancouver


Barter, Sunshine Coast

Bowyer and Toulson, Ladner

Mtharu, Calgary

Scandinavia Wolf Designs, Squamish

Tracey Cameron Creative, Calgary


Donohoe Living Landscapes, Vancouver

Royal Pacific Landing, Burnaby


Winners will be announced September 7! Sign up for our newsletter so you don€™t miss a thing.

Check out previous DOTY winners by category or by year.