This is always our favourite time of year. After months of poring over entries, packaging them up for our judges, and crunching the numbers (or moderating spirited debates), we finally get to invite other design lovers into the excitement with the announcement of our incredible finalists for our annual Western Living Designers of the Year awards.

Our all-star judges had to narrow down hundreds of entries to just a few finalists in nine categories—not an easy task with Western Canada’s wealth of design talent. We’ll be announcing the winners on September 6, 2022, and celebrating them in our September issue as well as at our annual DOTY event in Vancouver on September 13 (get your tickets now!).

Keep connected with us on Facebook and Instagram or subscribe to our newsletter to follow all our #wldoty updates and be among the first to know when the news is out.

Congratulations to everyone on our shortlist for our 2022 WL Designers of the Year competition, and thank you to everyone who sent in an entry—you made our judges’ jobs (delightfully!) challenging. Whether you’re on this shortlist or not, you’re a pivotal part of our amazing design community here in Western Canada. We’re proud to celebrate you all. Thanks for making the West such a beautiful place to live.

And now… meet the finalists for our Western Living Designers of the Year 2022 awards.

Tickets to our 2022 WL Designers of the Year party available now!


Alloy Homes
Frits de Vries Architects and Associates
Measured Architecture
Synthesis Design Inc.

Arthur Erickson Memorial Award for an Emerging Residential Designer

Fort Architecture
Kayla Browne
Nick Bray Architecture
Noble Architecture
Scott Posno Design
Secter Architecture and Design
SM Studio


Jeanie Andronyk
Scandinavia Wolf Designs


Autonomous Furniture
Buckshee Woodshop
Chapel Arts
Ffabb Home
Nicholas Purcell
Shipway Living Design

Industrial Design

Ffabb Home
Nathan Martell
Tantalus Design
Workbench Studio

Interior Design

Atmosphere Interior Design
Alykhan Velji Designs
Andrea McLean Studio
Falken Reynolds
Frits de Vries Architects and Associates
Gillian Segal Design
HB Design
Measured Architecture
PlaidFox Studio
Project 22 Design
Pure Design
Smiddy Stegman
Sophie Burke Design

Robert Ledingham Memorial Award for an Emerging Interior Designer

Lauren Ritz Design
Louis Duncan-He
Madeleine Design Group
Martin Lee Design
NAKO Design
Noble Architecture
PlaidFox Studio
Schédio Spaces
Smiddy Stegman
Studio Roslyn

Landscape Design

Eden Projects
Planta Landscape Studio


A Deumain
Michelle Grimm
Quinspired Ceramics