Designers of the Year launched in 2008, and It’s been one terrific party ever since that first night in a show suite for the (never to open, it would turn out) Ritz-Carlton Hotel. We may have underestimated the size of the speakers we€™d need for the sound system that first night (who are we kidding€”this reunion-style party has always been a raucous gala!), but it was the start of something great. Here’s to being able to crowd into loud spaces together again, and soon!

Furniture designer Kate Duncan celebrates her 2017 win. (Photo: Allison Kuhl)
Plaid Fox Studio’s Ben Leavitt (right), with partner Vishal Anand. (Photo: Allison Kuhl)
Editor-at-large Stacey McLachlan, designer Andrea Rodman, Taylor Willms of Sol Construction and architect David Battersby of BattersbyHowat in 2019.
Our 2019 Designers of the Year party, hosted in the Burritt Bros. showroom.
Kelly Reynolds, Marina Hauner and Chad Falkenberg of Falken Reynolds Interiors celebrate with 2019 Interior Designer of the Year David Nicolay of Evoke International Design.
Industrial designer Zoe Pawlak celebrates in 2019.
Paul Sangha of Paul Sangha Creative, Javier Campos of Campos Studio, and Nik Rust of Propellor in 2017, when Campos won the architectural design category. (Photo: Allison Kuhl)
Designer Jamie Banfield in 2017. (Photo: Allison Kuhl)
Interior designers Robert Bailey and Stephanie Brown in 2017, when Brown won the Ledingham Award. (Photo: Allison Kuhl)
Designer Paul Lavoie and editorial director Anicka Quin in 2016.


To read about more great people, designs, homes and innovations that shaped Western Living, click here.