Meet this year’s finalists for our annual design competition celebrating the best in Western Canada€”winners to be announced August 30. 

For the 12th year running, Western Living will be celebrating the best in Western Canadian design with our Designers of the Year September issue, and for the 12th year running, we’re blown away by the calibre of entries that came pouring in from Victoria to Winnipeg and everywhere in between. Our all-star judging panel had some serious work to do, sorting through hundreds of submissions from the best in the west to put together a shortlist of talented contenders in each category.

Below, you’ll find that list of finalists. We’ll be announcing the winners on August 30, and celebrating them in our September issue as well as at our annual DOTY gala in Vancouver on September 19. Keep connected with us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram or subscribe to our newsletter to follow all our #wldoty updates and be among the first to know when the news is

Congratulations to everyone on our shortlist for our 12th annual Designers of the Year competition, and thank you to everyone who threw their hat in the ring and made our judges’ job tougher than ever. You’re all a critical part of our amazing design community here in Western Canada€”a community we’re proud to celebrate every year.


Architecture Building Culture, North Vancouver
Campos Studio, Vancouver
DeJong Design Associates, Calgary
Frits de Vries Architects and Associates, Vancouver
Garret Cord Werner Architects and Interior Designers, Vancouver
Lanefab Design/Build, Vancouver
Leckie Studio Architecture and Design, Vancouver
Measured Architecture, Vancouver
Sturgess Architecture, Calgary


Architecture Building Culture, North Vancouver
Arno Matis Architecture, Vancouver
Miza Architects, Vancouver
Studio North, Calgary


Becki Chan, Vancouver
Béton Brut Design, Saskatoon
Grandi, Coquitlam, B.C.
Jamie Gentry Designs, Sooke, B.C.
Parts and Labor, Calgary
Seymour and Smith, Vancouver
Sonja Picard, North Vancouver
Truvelle, Vancouver


AdrianMartinus Designs, Calgary
Autonomous Furniture, Victoria
Alykhan Velji Designs x Mobilia, Calgary
Grant MacPherson Design, Tofino, B.C.
Jeff Martin Joinery, Vancouver
MTH Woodworks, Vancouver
Mtharu, Calgary
New Format Studio, Vancouver
Oliver Apt., Edmonton
Edits, Vancouver


Pot Incorporated, Vancouver
Quake Studio, Vancouver
Tantalus Design, North Vancouver
Tomnuk Design, Edmonton
Zoë Pawlak, Vancouver


Alykhan Velji Designs, Calgary
Amanda Hamilton Interior Design, Calgary
Connie Young Design, Calgary
Enviable Designs, Vancouver
Evoke International Design, Vancouver
Falken Reynolds Interiors, Vancouver
Measured Architecture, Vancouver
Nyla Free Designs, Calgary
Sophie Burke Design, Vancouver


Acacia Landscape, Victoria
Biophilia Design Collective, Victoria
Planta Landscape Studio, Calgary


Hfour Studio, Vancouver
Naked Frames, Edmonton
Natalie Gerber Studio, Calgary
Origins, Vancouver
Scandinavia Wolf Designs, Garibaldi Highlands, B.C.
Steelwood Design, North Vancouver
Trae Designs, Squamish, BC
Violet Finvers and Scott Alpen, North Vancouver


Aaron MacKenzie-Moore Design, Vancouver
Accentrix Design, Burnaby, B.C.
Gaile Guevara Studio, Vancouver
Gillian Segal Design, Vancouver
Hazel and Brown Design, Vancouver
How to Be, Vancouver
Purity Designs, Langley, BC
Rochelle Cote Interior Design, Calgary
Rudy Winston Design, Vancouver
Studio Block, Vancouver

Winners will be announced August 30! Sign up for our newsletter so you don€™t miss a thing.

Meet this year€™s judging panel.

Check out previous DOTY winners by category or by year.