Meet the DOTY class of 2016, as selected by our panel of internationally renowned judges.

From the architect who pours the foundation himself, to the dress designer who’s influencing international wedding style, to the ceramicist who pairs nostalgia with modernist design, this year’s Designers of the Year are at the forefront of our dynamic design scene. You’re going to want to get to know them. (Want a shot at the title next year? Entries for DOTY 2017 open in February. Stay in the loop by signing up for our newsletter!)

PicMonkey Collage


ARCHITECTURE: Clayton Salkeld, Design-BuiltINTERIORS: Douglas Cridland, Cridland AssociatesFURNITURE: Steven PollockFASHION: Gaby Bayona, TruvelleINDUSTRIAL: Matthew McCormick, Matthew McCormick StudioMAKER: Cathy TerepockiARTHUR ERICKSON MEMORIAL AWARD: Michael Leckie, Leckie StudioROBERT LEDINGHAM MEMORIAL AWARD: Chad Falkenberg and Kelly Reynolds, Falken Reynolds Interiors ONES TO WATCH: Wendy W. Fok, Autonomous Furniture Collective, OneTwoSix Design, Lara Presber  

 PREVIOUS WINNERSSort by categorySort by yearMORE DOTY2016Meet the judgesSee the shortlist